WESTPORT CREATIVE ARTS FESTIVAL

Today is the day! Robin and I leave for Westport, Connecticut to do the Westport Creative Arts Festival.

I’ve been squishing my booth down to something that will fit in my car–a 2003 Subaru Forester, so that is no mean feat.

Everything is stacked up in my studio. It looks fairly compact–only four small Rubbermaid containers, my Dynamic Display cases, an armful of wall hangings and oh, yeah, my soft puzzle mat floor from Alessco. I really like these mats because there are no strips to put on the outside to get a smooth border. They have sections with built-in smooth sides and corners.

My friend Carrie Cahill-Mulligan, who recommended this show to me, does a better job of talking about the Festival than I could today. So meet Carrie, see her exquisitely beautiful hats (I own one!), and learn more about the Festival here.

I’m glad I read her blog about it, because I didn’t know there was a special breakfast preview on Saturday morning. Who’s bringing the donuts??

I woke up this morning and my first thought was, “I wonder what I’m forgetting?” I always forget something. Sometimes it’s something critical, sometimes it’s just annoying. The great thing is, I’ll always find out. Because at some point during set-up, we will say, “Where is the x widget??” and I will slap my forehead and exclaim, “I forgot to pack it!”

I just checked my list again. Oh, yeah, the step stool!

My very first article for the now-defunct CraftsBusiness magazine told how I prepared and packed compulsively for the Boston Gift Show as part of a group booth with the League of NH Craftsmen.

I not only packed back-ups to everything, I packed back-ups for my back-up. I got to the show, set up my section of the booth with no mishap, and congratulated myself on a job well done.

Then my husband called to tell me I’d left my suitcase in the living room.

It’s always somethin’….

P.S. Actually, I’m almost at the point where I’m looking forward to the show. I hope if you are near Westport, CT this weekend, you will mosey on over to Staples High School and drop by Booth 163. We’ll be there! I have even more new jewelry and I still have a selection of small wall hangings left.

P.P.S. Go ahead. Ask us what we forgot.