THE POWER OF MUSIC

Music is a powerful bridge to our souls. And the stories that go with it are memorable. In fact, we often deeply connect music with our memories.

Backstory: In 1986, when Halley’s Comet made it’s grand appearance, Jon and I lived near Boston. And we totally missed seeing it, because every night of its visit was foggy, overcast, and clouded. (Also city lights would have probably dimmed it, too.) I was  heart-broken. Because it won’t be back until 2061. And I doubt I’ll be around then.

In May 1997, Comet Hale-Bopp became visible, and was one of the most memorable astronomical events for us ordinary people. We’d moved to Keene, New Hampshire, and it was an easy drive to find places where we could see it.

Our daughter was 9 and our son was 5. As we drove out to our best location, I played Mary Chapin Carpenter’s hauntingly beautiful song, “When Halley Came to Jackson”.

It still brings back so many memories from that night.

Another heart-breaker (in  a good way!) is the theme song from the 1996 movie, FLY AWAY HOME: “10,000 miles” a movie about loss, grief, healing, friendship, family, and love.

Years later, we discovered Mary Gauthier’s “Mercy Now”, a version with violinist Tania Elizabeth. The violin never overshadows Mary’s voice, but adds tremendous depth and power to the song. During a period where I was slightly estranged from some of my siblings, my mother’s dementia, and the death of both parents in a year, it’s a song that brings me to tears every. Single. Time. So it brings back memories, and has become entwined with them.

What song brings YOU joy/memories/compassion? Share in the comments!

Author: Luann Udell

I find it just as important to write about my art as to make it. I am fascinated by stories. You can tell when people are speaking their truth--their eyes light up, their voices become strong, their entire body posture becomes powerful and upright. I love it when people get to this place in their work, their relationships, their art. As I work from this powerful place in MY heart, I share this process with others--so they have a strong place to stand, too. Because the world needs our beautiful art. All of it we can make, as fast as we can! Whether it's a bowl, a painting, a song, a garden, a story, if it makes our world a better place, we need to do everything in our power to get it out there.

6 thoughts on “THE POWER OF MUSIC”

  1. Roberta Flack’s rendition of Killing Ne Softly was popular the summer my husband and I were married. Always brings me back to that magical time.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hey Luann! Dante’s Prayer by Loreena McKennit is my tear jerker. It is otherworldly. I also wanted to say that I just played Mary Gaulthier’s Mercy Now. You are so right…the violinist nails the accompaniment. It is a perfect dialogue of the voice and instrument “call and response”. I am actually a violinist who used to play with a guitar/songwriter and it requires a lot of discipline on the part of the violinist to know when to play in the background and when to step forward. BTW…it looks like she is playing a five string violin, which plays the normal range of notes of the violin – G, D, A, E - with an added lower C string of the viola, which gives it that rich, warm tone and added range on the lower end. A lot of violinists (myself included) have secretly (or not so secretly) envied the beautiful low notes of the viola and cello. You can hear in this video why!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment