Another PR TIP 4 U: Wooden Horse Magazine

I’ve been a subscriber to a free e-newsletter from Wooden Horse Magazine for years. It’s filled with information about new magazines, editorial changes, and news about magazine publishing in general.

They also have a data base of over 2,000 print magazines in the U.S. and Canada, with editorial contact info included.

I just found out (duh!) that you can get a day’s access (24 hours) to their magazine data base for…$1.99 a day!

I found this out after e-mailing Meg Weaver, the owner, and asking her about what it would cost to use their lists. I was worried about the expense for a small business like me.

I’ve decided even I can afford two bucks.

You don’t even have to subscribe to the newsletter to use this feature. You simply click the “order” button on the home page, select the “Wooden Horse magazine data base”, and you are offered a variety of options–from a single day’s access to a long-term subscription.

She said there are also search features to help you focus your target magazines/audiences.

Meg says although this is not a one-time usage thing (like when you rent a mailing list, you can only actually use the list for one mailing), things like the editorial contact info can change pretty quickly–so it can be worthwhile to simply pay another $1.99 for a new search when you need it.

This is a great and time-saving way to get a grip on the magazines out there that appeal to your target audience. I’m a magazine-reading queen bee and thought I was on top of the magazine market. Yet when I flew to Las Vegas for the ACRE show last year, a short layover in Utah showed I wasn’t as in-the-know as I thought. At the newsstand were there were easily a dozen magazines about western homes and western lifestyle I’d never even heard of before.

Using a data base like this is quicker than doing your own lengthy internet search and retyping all the info you find. It’s also cheaper than flying to the airports in the regions of your target audience. If you want, you can follow up with a visit the websites of the magazines you select, to make sure their mission statement and content is a good match to your work.

I am NOT affiliated with Wooden Horse or Meg Weaver in any way, just a satisfied subscriber and a soon-to-be customer.

Oh, and feel free to use my name if you talk to them. They’ll love to know how you heard about them.

Author: Luann Udell

I find it just as important to write about my art as to make it. I am fascinated by stories. You can tell when people are speaking their truth--their eyes light up, their voices become strong, their entire body posture becomes powerful and upright. I love it when people get to this place in their work, their relationships, their art. As I work from this powerful place in MY heart, I share this process with others--so they have a strong place to stand, too. Because the world needs our beautiful art. All of it we can make, as fast as we can! Whether it's a bowl, a painting, a song, a garden, a story, if it makes our world a better place, we need to do everything in our power to get it out there.

One thought on “Another PR TIP 4 U: Wooden Horse Magazine”

Leave a comment