BLATANT ADVERTISEMENT or “I was fired from TCR”

As you can read in my sidebar under “Mudding through life with the help of art”, I no longer write a regular column for Handmade Business, the magazine formerly known as The Crafts Report.

I haven’t for awhile now. I didn’t update my profiles nor did I advertise the fact. Truth is, I felt humiliated. (They actually didn’t even tell me. They just quit bugging me about deadlines.) (Which I never actually missed, I just couldn’t remember them.)

When I finally realized I hadn’t sent an article in for two months, they told me they didn’t need me anymore. They said I wasn’t funny or relevant anymore.

Ouch. (Gentle sobbing noise here.)

In my defense, I had about six editors there in 10 years. And my deadlines kept changing. But I still felt pathetic.

Then I heard from other writers in the industry, people I know who are truly professional, and excellent writers. Turns out that’s just the nature of the beast. Since we aren’t paid a salary, we’re technically freelancers, who can be hired (and fired) on a whim. (Though not technically fired. Just….not asked to actually write anything, for months at a time.)

I still fill in at TCR/HB with the occasional emergency article. I have no idea how they are received. And I can’t say, “But it’s a living” because, well, it’s not.

But I want to say, in their defense, that the print publishing industry is in tough shape. It’s hard on everyone, and no clear solution in site. I love print magazines and newspapers. Just check out my coffee table! But it’s cheaper, easier, and faster to get news and information on the web. And so, publishers struggle.

It’s not about me, and it’s not about them. They’re doing their best to stay afloat. I loved writing for them, and I would happily write for them again. (There. I said it. I have absolutely no pride. a professional attitude.)

And fortunately, I still write for Fine Art Studios Online, where I also have my website. (It’s as easy to manage my own website as a WordPress blog, and the support staff is amazing.)

So if, dear readers, you know of any writing opportunities, especially any that would be thrilled to to have moi on their writing staff, please let me know. I want to keep writing. Better yet, let them know about me. (Except for pro bono work. I already write for free, right here.)

And to those of you who followed my column at TCR all those years: A big, grateful “THANK YOU!!!” from the bottom of my heart.

6 thoughts on “BLATANT ADVERTISEMENT or “I was fired from TCR”

  1. Luanne, what about Interweave Press, or Stampington which produces a bevy of craft magazines. Both are always looking for proposals. I’ll bet they’d hire you for sure. Just spend some time and come up with projects (how-to’s,) (you might already be gagging), and I think the pay is pretty good. I love your style of writing, and I’m sure that others would as well. Just go for it,,,,meanwhile don’t leave your “day” job,,,,,,,always a fan

    Like

  2. Well, phooey! I love reading your musings and really love your polymer clay artifacts. Both continue to inspire. I was going to suggest the same publications that Lynne Sward suggested. Also, in a pure polymer clay vein, have you looked into The Polymer Arts magazine? It is right up your alley, in fact they should do an Artist’s Profile as well as a feature interview with you if they haven’t already! I’m fairly new to the magazine so I probably missed you if you are already connected to TPA. Wishing you good fortune in finding new media for your much appreciated voice.

    Like

  3. I loved reading your work in TCR….but I became annoyed with the magazine when it became too much advertising….not enough pertinent articles on subjects that helped me and I had been with them forever …so I knew the difference…and then when the name change happened…the articles got better …but I couldn’t read the teeny tiny print or deal with the flimsy paper for the same money I had gotten a great magazine for years before. That said I always print out and save your Finearts postings because I love them and some days they lift me up when I need it the most… I am in such a struggle ,.,making my niche in the world I want to be a part of …and keep fighting…so please keep writing….because you are more help than you ever could imagine….

    Like

  4. Luann,
    I read your blog and I really, really, really, enjoy it every time!! And I have several pairs of your magical earrings that I wear as often as possible, and every time I do people notice them and love them! So there, my lovely person and lovely artist, phooey indeed to anyone who tells you that you are not wanted, you are wanted, appreciated and needed by all of us!! And anybody who thinks not isn’t worth a thought…

    Like

  5. OK, so I’m old school. I really like the feel of paper in my hands when I’m reading. Yes, I have a Kindle, but the amount of time I spend reading on it is minimal compared to paper.
    I always went to the back of TCR to read your article first. Don’t shame me, I felt like I got the dessert before the meal. I really miss it and hope you land somewhere in a magazine I’ll love just as much.

    Like

Leave a Reply

