AND NOW FOR SOMETHING COMPLETELY DIFFERENT: Knitting Needle Trick

On a lighter note today, I just have to share something I tried today.

A few months ago, I snagged a pair of wooden knitting needles–CHEAP!–at an antique shop.

I was thrilled–until I picked a pair to work with a few days ago, and discovered one needle had a chunk missing on its tip. The split-off piece was almost an inch long–yikes!

I wish I’d taken a picture of it, because I had a brainstorm today.

I reshaped the tip–with my electric pencil sharpener!

It worked like a dream. Of course, the tip came out needle-sharp. Fortunately, I have lots of sandpaper on hand, in lots of grits. (I do a lot of sanding with my polymer clay work.) I managed to smooth off the re-cut, and round off the tip nicely. To keep everything even, I did the same to the other needle.

I’ll probably apply a very light coat of tung oil to seal the wood, too.

Haven’t tried them yet, but no reason why this shouldn’t work, right?

I’ll let you know!

P.S. I don’t know if this would work (ha ha! a pun!) with bamboo needles, but if you have a pair that’s already unusable, maybe it’s worth a try.

Refurbished knitting needles, a la electric pencil sharpener!

Author: Luann Udell

I find it just as important to write about my art as to make it. I am fascinated by stories. You can tell when people are speaking their truth--their eyes light up, their voices become strong, their entire body posture becomes powerful and upright. I love it when people get to this place in their work, their relationships, their art. As I work from this powerful place in MY heart, I share this process with others--so they have a strong place to stand, too. Because the world needs our beautiful art. All of it we can make, as fast as we can! Whether it's a bowl, a painting, a song, a garden, a story, if it makes our world a better place, we need to do everything in our power to get it out there.

6 thoughts on “AND NOW FOR SOMETHING COMPLETELY DIFFERENT: Knitting Needle Trick”

  1. Mine are plastic, so I’d hate to think what would happen if I tried that…

    I love the idea though. 🙂 I have a soft spot for ingenious problem-solving involving crafts. One of my favorites is using sticker printer paper to make fabric paint stencils for t-shirts. I have two beautiful shirts so far, and I’m working on a third.

    Like

  2. Yes, Leanne…
    The electric pencil sharpener and sandpaper are some of my favorite tools too! I was making some hair sticks (with polymer ends) and used a pencil sharpener and sandpaper on a dowel for the stick part. After that I antiqued it and put the polymer bead on and was very pleased with the results.
    So good on ya for salvaging the knitting needle…get the point???

    Like

  3. I have made myself sets of double pointed needles out of wooden dowels doing just that. When I was at college and wanted to knit, it only took a bit of time in the library where the electric pencil sharpener was, and a bit of time with sandpaper, and I was good to go. It would be fun to do the same with some of the “fancy” wooden dowels that are available like walnut or maple…

    Like

Leave a comment