QUESTIONS YOU DON’T HAVE TO ANSWER: “How Long Did That Take You to Make?”

Here’s my latest article at Fine Art Views Newsletter called
Questions You Don’t Have to Answer.

And here’s a tongue-in-cheek article by Robert Genn on how the Art Marketing Board of Canada can help you price your artwork.



Filed under art, business, craft, marketing, questions you don't have to answer, selling, telling your story

3 responses to “QUESTIONS YOU DON’T HAVE TO ANSWER: “How Long Did That Take You to Make?”

  1. I like saying “40 years” (of however long you have been at it). It stops them in their tracks and gives them something to think about. I explain that over time one process or idea leads to another. It doesn’t just happen in 3 hours or 4. I always measure it in years.

    Anyway, just my take on that particular question.

  2. KJ

    LOL Since I am a bead weaver I have no problem giving them the actual weaving time since it is hours and hours and not something most people are willing to invest time doing. I also add that I have been working in the medium for years and the time does not include shopping, design, and prep.

    Great question. I will click on the link and read the rest.

  3. Ditto KJ – and it usually makes them think twice about the price. If something took me 6 hours and I’m charging $25 for it, then it really ISN’T expensive after all.

Leave a Reply

