ARTIST STATEMENT = MISSION STATEMENT

A quick thought and a short post today. (You folks in the back row heaving a sigh of relief, I HEARD THAT!!)

A lot of people have written to say they don’t think of their art/craft as “serious enough” to be worthy of an artist statement.

Would it make you feel better if we called it a “mission statement” instead? I love this definition because I love the question, “Why do we exist?”

Or how about a “vision statement”? Again, I love how this article distinguishes between a mission statement and a vision statement:

The difference between a mission statement and a vision statement is that a mission statement focuses on a company’s present state while a vision statement focuses on a company’s future.

Your homework, should you chose to accept it, is to write a good mission or vision statement for your craft or art. Heck, go crazy and combine the two!

And someday, when you realize that the work/art/craft you do has its place in the world, see if writing that artist statement comes a little easier to you.

Be the guinea pig! Or be the bunny! Remember, they, too, have their place in the world.

And so do you.

One thought on “ARTIST STATEMENT = MISSION STATEMENT

  1. Thank you! I am currently taking a class that requires me to write a mission statement.

    I also, like many others, do not see my ‘craft’ as serious enough…your comment forces me to recognize that it is serious enough; and only I can deliver its vision.
    Ann from MD

    Like

Leave a Reply

