ME ‘n’ SETH AGREE!

Seth Godin wrote a great post about the value of donating to charity auctions.

Here’s what I wrote almost eight years ago.

And here’s what Seth wrote today about how to raise money better.

I’m in awe of this guy. Because he just connected all the dots for me, from 2006 to today.

Recently I’ve been donating to little causes. They come to me from the Upworthy website. I can pay $3, or $5, or even $50 to support the people and causes that are dear to me.

More and more causes are asking a lot of people for a very little bit of money. Micro-funding or crowd-sourcing is a simple, effective way to make life better for those who need it desperately. All it takes is telling their story.

It also lets us tell ours.

I don’t believe my artwork has to be a “bargain” or a “deal” to serve a cause.
It diminishes me.

I believe making our art plays a teensy part in making the world a better place.
I believe encouraging others to find their place in the world, makes the world a better place.
I believe serving vs. helping….
Encouraging vs. advising….
Listening deeply vs. telling….
Is what lets others move forward.

Thank you, Seth, for letting that be enough to make me participate.
I don’t need the tote bag. I just need the act of giving to be simple.

I just need to know that sometimes giving just a little, can actually change a lot.

1 Comment

Filed under art, donating to charity fundraisers

One response to “ME ‘n’ SETH AGREE!

  1. Luann, you and Seth are right on target. I forwarded this on to our daughter in seattle, she does fund raisers for colon cancer and this is very timely.

Leave a Reply

