CHEAP WATER FOR YOUR STUDIO

I have a wonderful studio–spacious, lots of natural light, beautiful views wherever I look. We splurged on a really good propane-fueled heater (a Rinnai Energy-Saver) and I insist on the air conditioner going in early in the season.

One thing I do NOT have in here is a water supply.

It didn’t seem that big a deal at the time we renovated the barn–the kitchen sink is just through the mudroom–and it makes our taxes cheaper.

But the mudroom is unheated in winter and hot in the summer. I need water for plants and my bunny. And it always seems like I’m in the middle of a project before I realize I need a cup of water to finish it.

A few years ago, a local spring water company offered me a deal–rent a water dispenser and have water bottles for it delivered to my doorstep for a ridiculously small fee. It was wonderful! I had all the water I needed, plus a hot water tap for making tea for guests at open studios.

But the heating and cooling of the water bumped our electricity bill up. When the big recession hit, even the small rental fee seemed like a hit to my pocketbook. So I discontinued the service.

Earlier this year, a friend sold me a perfectly good water dispenser for a paltry sum, and even threw in an empty plastic bottle. He said I could use tap water, but I didn’t see how I could up-end the bottle without spilling it all over. So the dispenser sat in my studio all summer. And I continued to curse every time I had to drop everything and run to the kitchen sink again. (My husband cursed ever time he had to move the damn thing in the garage.)

I finally called Monadnock Springs yesterday. It’s a small company, family-owned. And, it turned out, extremely customer-friendly.

They said their bottles would fit my machine.

They said a guy could bring me water tomorrow, and any time I needed more, just call.

And they said I could plug in the machine but NOT TURN IT ON until 10-15 minutes before I wanted hot or cold water, cutting down mightily on the electricity cost.

So here I am in my studio today, with…well, not running water, but a reliable, handy water source just the same.

So if your studio is dry, consider this inexpensive, convenient and PORTABLE solution to your water needs.

Now if I could just fit a Porta Potty in here….
(mmmm…maybe not.)

My new water source

5 Comments

Filed under art, craft, Studio Tips

5 responses to “CHEAP WATER FOR YOUR STUDIO

  1. Found this through your Twitter link. I’d be afraid of algae growing in that much standing water for a long period of time, leaving me with yet one more thing to clean! I think my solution would be just to take my big 48 oz Tumbler – the kind with the built-in straw, and just sip off that all day. If I needed hot water I think a $20 hotpot would be cheaper and, as you suggest, just unplug it if unused. Interesting solution, though!

    • I agree, a big tumbler for drinking water probably works best for you. I actually use water in my jewelry-making (cooling down a drill, quenching a heated metal piece), for watering plants, freshening my bunny’s water bowl, clean-ups, etc. I think Monadnock Springs would be horrified at your suggestion of algae bloom. :^D

  2. Elaine

    Need a sin? I designed and built a portable sink. I’ve been meaning to write an instructable for it. I’ll send you a picture.

  3. Elaine

    Uh, that should say SINK. : ) Please edit! Thanks.

  4. I’m right next to the guest bath…..trouble is I have to try and keep it clean and paint brushes can get kind of messy. I usually have a lovely multi-colored ring around the sink. Oh well. To know me is to love me.

Leave a Reply

