PUPPIES REVISITED: The Torch Wipe Thing.

When I published the PUPPIES article, people asked me what “torch wipes” were.

I had no idea. Googling didn’t turn much up at the time.

But I kept thinking about it. Gentle readers, I am nothing if not concerned about you getting answers to all your questions.

Well, I just found out what torch wipes are.

I found this wonderful article by Elizabeth Dodd, director of the creative writing program at Kansas State University.

Ms. Dodd was fortunate enough to be invited to actually visit the cave of Chauvet in France. I envy her with all my heart. In a good way.

She says…

…At some point in time, other visitors to the cave marked their way with torch wipes, rubbing the burning surface to knock off ash and renew the flame—and perhaps if the way was unknown to them, to leave signs of the route back up and out….

So there you have it, folks. Torch wipes. Who knew??!!

And what will I do with that envy?

I will put it to good use.

I’m thinking it’s time for another trip to France, to visit the caves I can. I found other sites in Germany, sites that were the home of wonderful artifacts (including the oldest horse artifact ever discovered) that might be open to the public.

If anyone knows someone in the “cave art biz” (is there such a thing??) or someone who can pull strings in the French or German government, start pulling for me now!

1 Comment

Filed under art, craft, dogs, life with a dog, life with pets

One response to “PUPPIES REVISITED: The Torch Wipe Thing.

  1. Luann
    I visited the Perigord in France many years ago while I was studying European Prehistory at university. There are many more caves with art in the region around Lascaux. The place I visited was Les Eyzies de Tayac. You may also want to see if you can get into Tuc d’Audoubert, where there are animal figures sculpted in clay. The museums around the area have lots of little figurines of animals carved in ivory and stone. You would be in bliss!
    A nice letter to the French Embassy will usually result in a whole bundle of information, including where to go, where to stay and how to get there by public transport.
    There are cave paintings in northern Spain too, around Altamira, but I think these are closed to the public. You can visit a replica of the cave ceiling in Madrid.
    Have a look here: http://www.donsmaps.com/cavepaintings.html for lots more pictures and inspiration.
    Email me if you want more details or to ask questions; I spent three years studying this period of prehistory and I still remember some of it!
    Regards,
    A.

Leave a Reply

