OPEN TO THE GIFTS IN FRONT OF US

It’s been a very difficult last few days. I won’t even dwell on what happened, that’s not important. What IS important is the lesson I’ve learned.

When weird things happen, my brain (and your brain) leap forward to figure out WHY. Why did she say that? Why did they do that?? What else should I have done? What did I bring to that situation?

In the end, some things cannot be “figured out”. People will overlook your good intentions, life will not be fair, hard times will come no matter how much we try to protect ourselves.

But if we let our brain continue to spin and fret and fuss, the real tragedy will overtake us…

We will be focusing on the bad stuff, trying like heck to figure it all out.

And we will not be facing the right direction for the next blessing that awaits us. The next “namaste” moment. The next recognition of the of the miraculous in our lives.

So I’ve had my little hissy fit, I’ve cried and felt sorry for myself.

And now I’m ready to see the blessing already in my life, and be grateful for them.

I’m ready to turn in a new direction. And see, with an open heart, where the next blessing is coming from.

10 Comments

Filed under art, craft, gratitude, mental attitude

10 responses to “OPEN TO THE GIFTS IN FRONT OF US

  1. I agree with you, it is a very important lesson, to learn to move on from a situation like that.

  2. “we will not be facing the right direction for the next blessing that awaits us”
    That is one heckuva telling phrase. It gave me pause. I had to stop and read it again. And again. There has been so much sitting-and-spinning going on of late in the world that I am a part of. And this reminds me that sometimes I am the one responsible for keeping the spinning going. I need to release and move on. Only then can I continue looking UP (my word for the year). Thank you, Luann, for always so eloquently stating just what I need to hear.

    Enjoy the day!
    Erin

  3. Charity

    Good for you! This is an awesome attitude and one I wish I were better at. You are inspirational. Thank you!! :)

  4. I feel so badly when I read blog posts like this because I want to reach through the screen and hug and help.

    I hate days like those. Worse than being pecked by a duck.

  5. You are a blessing, Luann. We all have those moments where things come out of left field and catch us completely off-guard. We have no control over that, or other people’s motivations (usually insecurity in my opinion). The important thing is always to remember who you are, not dwell on the negative, move on, and not look back. Your insights help us all do just that. Thank you.

  6. Pingback: Tweets that mention OPEN TO THE GIFTS IN FRONT OF US « Luann Udell -- Topsy.com

  7. My goodness. We must have been born under the same star, because we had the same kind of baffling experience this week. These unexplainable things happen, and it is hard to stop shaking your head and wondering why. I think that all we can do is look for the lessons in them, do our best to forgive, learn from the bad experience, then go where the light shines. Good deeds and creative sharing is healing medicine.

  8. If one continually focus on the negative nothing productive will ever shine through. It’s hard to push past things, and it’s always refreshing when you can actually move forward. I hope things continue to look up for you!! :)

  9. I heard a wise person say once “what you resist, persists”. It’s ok to be angry, sad, think life is unfair, etc but dwelling on it is counterproductive. Thank you for your insightful post. We all need to be reminded frequently that it’s really more useful to move on than to dwell or try to figure out why things happen the way they do. We have to pick our fights and sometimes they’re just not worth it.

  10. Pingback: WAITING FOR THE COOL: That Copying Thing Again « Luann Udell

Leave a Reply

