WHAT’S KNOT TO LOVE?

A few years ago, I began a series of “Shaman Necklaces”, inspired by neolithic artifacts. I wanted big, bold pieces, and I wanted them to look OLD.

I decided to attach the artifacts with leather cord. But I had no idea how to tie them so they would look nifty. My daughter’s boyfriend at the time, an Eagle scout, suggested the collar and capstan knot.

He couldn’t quite remember how to tie it, though, so I searched for it on the internet. And found this amazing video.

So a big shout-out to the Marinews website in Australia and Andy’s World of Knots animated tutorials.

I absolutely love watching these knot videos, though some of them make me dizzy. And I couldn’t have made my beautiful necklaces without them. I actually had to modify the technique a little, since I needed to connect two objects together.

Why did I think of this today? Because I’ve been working on simpler, less expensive versions for the League of NH Craftsmen’s 77th Annual Fair next month.

And I still need to check the video to refresh my memory! Thank goodness lives don’t depend on what I do…..

1 Comment

Filed under art, craft, craft shows, creativity

One response to “WHAT’S KNOT TO LOVE?

  1. WOW! That knot is EXACTLY what I’ve been looking for! I love making art jewelery but the clasps always are a bugaboo for me- this is great!

    gera

Leave a Reply

