EXPENSIVE PUPPY LESSON

Where NOT to let your dog ride in a car.

We just learned a very expensive lesson today.

When we go in the car, our puppy Tuck rides in the back seat, preferably on the floor. He immediately would scrunch under the driver’s seat, which we thought was cute. “Oh, look!” I’d say, “He’s trying to get closer to us without actually getting in front!” (Which isn’t allowed.)

Two days ago, my “air bag” warning light came on. I took it in to the Subaru dealer today.

The service manager called me back a few minutes ago with an odd questions.

“Do you have a dog?” he asked.

“Yep”, I replied. How did he know??

“Is it a small dog?” he asked.

Wow, I thought, this guy is amazing! “Yes, he’s a puppy.”

Then I thought, did Tuck poop in the car??

Nope. Much worse. And much more expensive.

Turns out our little Tuck chewed through the air bag harness which is located…..under the driver’s seat. It will take at least four days for a new one to be sent, and it will cost $545 for the harness and it will take 2-3 hours of labor.

Oh my.

So here is my public service announcement: Do not let your darling little puppy-or-small-dog crawl under the car seats.

Because in addition to the candy wrappers/empty pop cans/gas receipts/other assorted trash, there is evidently a pricey little part under there that dogs just love to chew.

That, or Tuck is actually a gold-digging puppy who hoped to inherit our estate after we were killed in a car crash.

Naughty Tuck! But he’s in good company, as you can see from our other pets who create havoc with their chewing.

2 Comments

Filed under announcement, funny, humor, life with a dog, life with pets, pets

2 responses to “EXPENSIVE PUPPY LESSON

  1. dclark1983

    hahaha… Although the hit to the wallet is not funny, the story it. I have four dogs, two cats and a fish. I also own a pet store, so I can relate to you in so many ways. Puppies are cute and fun, but expensive! You never know what they will get into. I just added a grown Great Dane to my mix. http://dclark1983.wordpress.com is my blog. You can view my new little princess there.

  2. Pingback: ALMOST ANOTHER EXPENSIVE PUPPY LESSON « Luann Udell

Leave a Reply

