MARKETING IN A RECESSION

Here’s a nice little benefit to LinkedIn… I formed a new connection recently, which generated an invitation to connect from the person’s spouse, which led me to his blog, where I found this little gem today.

Ed Sucherman’s post is essentially, hard times come and go, and it can be scary….but people still desire, and need, the same things. He shares a poignant example from his own life, and ends with this thought:

Match your product’s marketing message to the very depths of human emotional needs and you cannot miss. No matter what target market. No matter what economy

In the hands of some people, this could sound manipulative.

In Ed’s hands, it sounds sweeter. Like if we remember that we are all in this mess together…

…If we can remember that it won’t last forever, and if we recognize that, being human, we all still have powerful needs and desires–beautiful, human needs and desires…

…Like our need to love and be be loved, our need for companionship and family, our need to be accepted, our need to feel protected, our desire to be seen as competent, our need for home and security, our desire to find peace and friendship even with those who are strangers to us, our desire for our lives to have purpose and meaning …

…Then we can find a way to do the work (and the art) that is important to us, and find the audience who will find it meaningful, too.

Hey, and how can we express those values we hold?

Yep….your artist statement.

4 Comments

Filed under art, artist statement, business, craft, inspiration, marketing, mental attitude, self promotion, social networking, telling your story

4 responses to “MARKETING IN A RECESSION

  1. Would you believe I have never sat down to write an artists statement. My art is not political, or savvy, or attempting to make any kind of statement other then to bring a smile to someone’s face. You make a valid point though and perhaps I should re-think the Artist Statement.

  2. Thank you for this wonderful message today! Btw, I am reading two of Martha Beck’s books, thanks to your mention of her, and I am enjoying them immensely.

  3. Hi Luann,
    Thank you for this wonderful post and advice.

    You have helped me so much in the short time I’ve known you that I nominated you for a Lemonade Award. Please check out my blog (http://kathleenkrucoff.blogspot.com/2009/03/lemonade-award.html) for more info.

    Thank you so much.

  4. Denise, expressing your desire to bring a smile to someone’s face in an artist statement is valid, too! I’m glad you’re thinking of writing one.

    Cindy, I’m glad you enjoyed Ed’s blog post, and I’m delighted you like Martha! She’s smart and grounded. I love her writing.

    Kathleen, thank you so much for the mention, and I’ll do what I can. :^)

Leave a Reply

