LAST SHOW OF THE SEASON

I’m running around in my usual pre-show frenzy, trying to reinvent the wheel, make up tons of new jewelry, and trying to fit a 10′x10 booth into a 11′x5′ spot.

Yes, it’s The Orchard School’s Annual Craft Fair. This wonderful little fair is now held at the beautiful Christmas Tree Inn in Marlow, NH .

I’m in it, I’m not ready, but the curtain goes up at 6 p.m. Friday night, December 5 for the fair preview. It opens for real at 9:30 a.m. Saturday, December 6.

I’ll have my signature artifact jewelry on hand, gifts for guys (yes! Cufflinks!!), plus pretty vintage button jewelry and some lovely pieces made from antique mother-of-pearl buttons.

I have to run to tae kwon do and pretend I can jump into the air throwing a kick. If I get a chance, I’ll upload some pics of the MOP jewelry later. Here is a lousy pic of some really cool earrings, made from antique mother-of-pearl buttons. They have a soft, almost metallic gleam to them, in shades of cream, silver and brown–lovely! (If I do say so myself…)

These little shows are a challenge for me, because it’s hard for me to do anything half-way. The ceilings in the room are too short for my propanels, I had to beg to get access to electricity (so I have to use 35 watt bulbs in my lights, and bring only a third of them) and I never remember to allow myself a way to get out of my booth. Oh well, who needs to eat?

But I like doing one or two of these smaller shows from time to time, because they force me to get small, to focus and to simplify my set-up. (Although I think I missed the point of this, this year….)

Wish me luck, stop by if you’re in the area, and maybe I can get some pics of my little half-booth if I remember to take my camera.

6 Comments

Filed under announcement, craft shows

6 responses to “LAST SHOW OF THE SEASON

  1. Oooohh, yes, pictures, we want pictures! :)

    Have fun, and sell lots of stuff!

  2. I did the same thing at my last craft show. I wanted room for people to come up to the booth on both sides so they could see and touch our jewelry. So I ended up with an inverted “U” that we were inside! Meaning that each time we wanted out, we had to scoot a table out (carefully or we’d end up with displays tumbling!). Teri

  3. greenmba2008

    Try a different type of bulb at the same wattage of you need more light. Sure, the hardware shop up the street from you has incandesents (sp?) but Pablo’s has the LEDs. Its a big difference. As far as getting out of your both have you tried a pogo stick?

  4. Goodluck, I like the button earrings, their fun!
    Valerie

  5. luann — everytime i read one of your posts, i think to myself, “man, this gal and i share some synapses…” i mean, of course, you articulate it better…but i think exactly the same things you do when i read your posts.

    and i had to laugh too, b/c i have those same exact candy dishes and they are sooooooo freakin’ handy for shows. they are so multi-purposed. i am quite peeved that i didn’t get any more. now, everything i go to a $1 store, i look for them to no avail. they are so wonderful…

    hope your holiday show season went went!!! mele kalikimaka…

Leave a Reply

