HOSPICE

Just a quick note today. My father-in-law, who’s been in failing health for some time, took a turn for the worse last weekend. My husband was able to arrange for hospice care, while the kids and I gathered from across the state, and rushed down to Philadelphia to be with him.

Thanks to hospice showing us how to provide palliative care, it was a quiet, gentle death. He was home, where he felt comforted. Pain, anxiety and discomfort were eased. Friends and family were able to see Gene one last time to tell him how much we loved him and to say good-bye. We all had a the opportunity to simply sit quietly with him and hold his hand.

He died peacefully in the early hours Wednesday a.m.

It was my very first experience with hospice care, and it was incredible. It is, simply put, a gift for all concerned.

Jon plans to interview the woman who was our liaison for an article. Since the kids and I arrived after she’d left, I’m looking forward to learning more about this movement.

I think it eased all our hearts to see how serene this final stage of life can be.

7 Comments

Filed under choices, lessons from hospice, life

7 responses to “HOSPICE

  1. lee

    Honestly, the Hospice people are amazing. I am grateful to them for all the effort that went into my mother-in-law’s care. They are so kind and patient, and they make such a huge difference. To be comforted and made comfortable is a huge gift.

  2. My condolences to you and your family. My mother had hospice care in her final days. They were wonderful and mom was able to be at home. I’m not sure how we would have made it without them.

  3. marj kammuelller

    We used it for my Mom too, who died of cancer here at my
    home, at her request (she did not want to go into a home
    or hospital) and it was a good experience for all in a
    very hard time. Thank goodness our government provides
    the money for this service. It truly is a blessing for
    all.

  4. Hello Luann. I am a new visitor to your blog. Just wanted to let you know I enjoy your work and writing and to second your thoughts about hospice. Both my parents were in hospice care at the end- I am grateful for what they provided both to my parents and to family. My condolences to your family.

  5. 1eyedmonkee

    Luann. It was the whole experience of “end of days” and hospice that got me blogging. Needless to say, it was an amazing experience and a journey that I’m glad to have had. Now the grief work that comes in waves is what is left for me to do.

    I’m still spending half of my week with my mom and helping her to navigate her new life. Your blog articles about cleaning are helping me stay focused as I dig my way through his life. Each time I’m there I do battle with my emotions as I am faced with doing away with the bits and pieces that were “him”, but there is no need to keep bags full of empty plastic containers!

    So this funny blog world has connected us in an odd turn of events. I am so sorry for your loss and aware that 6 months ago that didn’t have the weight in my life it has now.

  6. Blessings Luann….I found your blog through Bonnie B, a great friend. I linked yours to mine.
    Hospice takes the fear out of the unknown aspects of death and dying. It provides dignity and grace, comfort for everyone.
    Bringing a new life into the world needs a certain set of skills as well as bidng forwell to a life about to leave.
    Thank you for sharing.
    If we don’t share, we are but solitary creatures not experiencing life to the fullest!

    Patricia

  7. We love hospice too. In our family, we’ve had both in-home hospice and hospice-away from home. Both times it’s been a blessing. I wish more people took advantage of hospice — many people wait too long to accept what’s coming, and don’t sign up for hospice until there’s not really time to transition.

Leave a Reply

