TWITTERING

I’ve just discovered Twitter. Check it out and see if it’s something you’d be interested in. Here’s a good place to find out how it works.

It’s sort of like instant messaging for larger groups of people. Or micro-blogging. Posts have to be super-short–I think it’s 140 characters. But you can post as often as you like, or need. You can follow other people, and other people can elect to follow you.

It’s simple, it’s fun, and it’s like a tiny window into other people’s world. Crafted Webmaster Nicolette Tallmadge has interesting things to say about the Twitter phenomenon. (I always find interesting things at Nicolette’s website, and I hope you’ll check her out.

I’ve already found that people who constantly self-promote themselves are kinda boring. That could be an easy trap to fall into! On the other hand, it could be a great way to create instant news or announcements to your customers and blog followers. And it’s really fun to see the smaller details in a friend or family member’s life in real time….

If Twitter is just one more thing on your plate, don’t do it! But if you have a minute to sign up and try it out, let me know how it works for you.

2 Comments

Filed under art, business, life, marketing, networking, resources, self promotion, social networking, Twitter

2 responses to “TWITTERING

  1. Liz

    I’ve just started twittering. It’s a very interesting concept – one that I think has decent potential for an artist as a tool to increase awareness of our art, and and who we are as artists.

    However, I can also see how it could be addicting, and for me it will take a certain amount of restraint to not follow too many other people. I already struggle at times to limit my internet time, especially to give myself more time for actually doing my art.

    Thank you for the links about Twitter – very informative!
    http://twitter.com/liz4flowers

  2. I’ve been enjoying Twitter for the last few months (more than I thought – I just noticed I’ve “tweeted” nearly 1000 times – yikes!)

    I have two Twitter accounts:

    A personal one which I use for little observances during the day
    A business one which I use as a brief news feed for my store

    The former appears on the sidebar of my blog, and the latter is tied into every page of my store. I think it’s a handy way to let customers know if there will be a delay this week, or if I’m running a sale.

Leave a Reply

