What Is Needed Now

Today is going to be a special day for me. Two friends who have been recipients of my “active listening” exercise are coming to listen to me. “It’s your turn!” they both tell me in email. “We’re coming, ready or not!” Thank you, Carol and Barbara!

You can read more about this powerful four-questions exercise here.

I’m scared. The last time I did this two years ago. I feel like I haven’t actually moved forward with what I gained then. I’m afraid I won’t have any new answers to those questions.

But this morning, it came to me.

I’ve felt I have two powerful, conflicting paths before me. They are:

What is my passion? What is it I need to bring into the world.

And what does the world need?

The first sometimes seems too selfish, too self-centered. The second seems too self-sacrificing. Which is the right path to take?

My brief sessions with a rational behaviorist, though, have made me realize they may not be mutually exclusive. They may only seem polarized. Maybe….I don’t have to choose, either/or.

Suddenly, I see I could be looking where those two choices intersect:

What does the world need….from me?

That’s my path.

I also realize the point of “clearing out” is not about having a clean studio, or more storage space in the attic.

The process of physically clearing out, and making room, will help me spiritually and emotionally “clear out” and “make room”.

Four hard questions. Some wine. A little cleaning.

And hopefully, new energy and purpose to follow.

Wish me luck!

4 Comments

Filed under action steps, art, business, inspiration, life, mental attitude

4 responses to “What Is Needed Now

  1. Good luck, that goes without saying.

    I will be interested in how it goes, if you decide to share that is. I am really not sure of the “why” in my life beyond that I enjoy it. I suspect the “why” is what separates the serious artists from the rest of us.

  2. Tracy, thank you for your good wishes, and check the next blog essay, “Making Room”. Hope it’s useful!

  3. Deborah Hill

    Hey there, thanks for another great entry…they always make me think. I went back and read about the active listening, what a wonderful exercise.

    Good luck and will read the “making room” entry.

    Warm regards

    Deborah

  4. Hi Luann,

    It’s good to see that you are writing and sharing your thoughts with others. I’ll be spending some time out at the cabin this August… if you get time, we can get together. I promise to do more listening than talking!
    Hope all is going well.
    Lori

Leave a Reply

