MORE BUNNY LESSONS

My rabbit Bunster (she looks a lot like this rabbit) pretty much has the run of my studio. Sometimes this is not fun. She chews a lot, for one thing. If I don’t pay enough attention to her, she will even chew my pant leg. All my pant legs have rough spots where she’s nibbled the edges.

But she amuses me with her little bunny romps in the early mornings and evenings, when rabbits are most active, and I love the fact that she always hangs out near me when I’m working or writing.

And the lessons she teaches me are useful, too. I’ve written about some of these lessons before here and here.

Last night she taught me another lesson.

I often run back and forth between the main house and my studio. She hangs out happily in the mudroom in between sometimes. But every time I open my studio door, she runs over as if she wants to come inside.

If I opened the door to let her in, she stops and just sits there.

This always infuriates me. “Come in or go out!” I exclaim. “Make up your mind! It’s cold out here! I can’t leave the door open all day!”

She always ignores me, of course. I think she’s teasing me. Or trying to figure out where I’m eventually going to land, so she can hang out there, too.

Last night, she paused in front of the door, refusing to come in. But when I started to close the door, she reached and and grab the edge with her teeth and start to gnaw. I would open the door. She stopped. I go to shut the door again. She grabs the door again.

This went on and on.

Finally, I scolded, “Come in or stay out–but quit eating the damn door!!”

And then I started laughing.

I’ve been caught in the same dilemmas all season. Rest and recuperate? Get back to work? Start production? Clean the studio? Explore new ideas? Get caught up on the old ones? Chuck it all and move to Hawaii??? I just can’t decide what I should do, what I want to do, what my next step is. Someone tell me what to do!! All I want to do right now is hole up in a warm corner and knit.

As my rabbit twitched her nose at me, I realized it doesn’t matter which way I decide to go. In, out, in. If it’s not right, I can always jump back.

But there’s absolutely no point in sitting in the doorway and chewing the door.

Time to simply DO.

7 Comments

Filed under action steps, art, business, choices, life, life with pets, life with rabbits, taking chances

7 responses to “MORE BUNNY LESSONS

  1. Ali

    It’s really just about getting in motion, isn’t it? You can always change your direction or double back, but until you start moving, you’ll never arrive anywhere.

  2. Ben-David

    There’s another point here: your Bunny seems to be motivated by a *perceived* window of opportunity. It’s the old “limited offer” dodge – don’t close that door on me! That’s why it’s sometimes hard to decide – we want to keep our options open.

    But as you write, you can always go back to other things, no choice is really final.

  3. Hi Luann, I read:
    http://makingamark.blogspot.com/

    as well as your blog, and saw mention of you:

    “Luann Udell has a unique voice when it comes to the business of being an artist and her blog Luanne Udell – an artist’s life and the business of craft has gone straight on to my regular read blogroll. She has some really great posts on her blog which include:….”

    Just passing on some encouragement to your writing/biz skills!

    Dede

  4. Luann,
    What a wonderful place you have here, full of humor and insight. I also found your blog through Katherine Tyrrell’s.

    I can relate to you and your bunny. I am forever agonizing over what “important” thing I think I want to do first/next, and what I might have forgotten. The one, practical thing I have done to help with this is to write a list each morning (better yet, the night before) of ALL the things I want to do that day.

    Lists are great, but for me they only work if I go one step further. Take out my daytimer and schedule it (yes, even the fun stuff.) Always I find that there is waaay too much stuff on my list to schedule reasonably (and sanely) into one day. So then I start prioritizing…what matters most on that day?

    Anything that doesn’t make the priority cut gets bumped to the next day’s list, and if I don’t get everything done on my “schedule” of the day, that’s okay too. At least it’s out of my brain and down on paper. Helps preserve the teeth too ;-).

  5. Luann, Your post made me laugh, but it is true, we can learn alot about ourselves from our animals. I am glad I am not the only one who can’t decide which way to turn in the morning…I am afraid of making the wrong choice and wasting time. I need to get over that!

  6. Dede, thank you so much for pointing out that link to me. I’m honored to have been mentioned!

    Ben-David, thank you for that insight. You are spot on in your observation.

    Jennifer, thank you for sharing your strategy. I want to try it!

    Michelle–just don’t chew the door! :^D

  7. The thing that’s helpful to me here (thanks, Bunny) is the reminder to just do SOMETHING, even if I’m in the “rest and recuperate” mode. This is hard, especially with the fatigue I’m feeling, but necessary. (Or maybe I should ask: what does your bunny do when he’s sick?)

Leave a Reply

