BREATHE

Today a reader mentioned Christine Kane’s blog in her comment on MY blog essay RESOLUTIONS. (Thanks, Michelle!)

I’m actually a huge fan of Christine’s blog. But I keep forgetting to check in regularly, and I’d missed this one. I’m glad Michelle mentioned it, because when I read Christine’s essay on Resolution Revolution, it resonated with me immediately.

I realized my word for 2007–the one I’d inadvertently picked up halfway through last year–was “breathe”.

It was when I realized I was totally stressing myself out about what I could and could not physically do in Tae Kwon Do, and climbing, and riding. I realized I had to let go, relax, and….breathe. And simply do what I could.

It also helped me not to panic about preparing for new and different shows, for getting ready for even more surgery last month, for everything else that seemed piled on top of my life. For dealing with odd and huffy situations, dealing with demanding and demeaning people, and even dealing with me when I got whiney.

It worked, too.

It took me on a tiny mental vacation, a mini-break. A moment to center myself, and remember that though I may be the center of MY universe, that doesn’t make me the center of everyone else’s universe. And that as tricky, or as embarrassing, or as difficult as this moment was, it would pass.

Breathe. Breathe!

It will be fun thinking of “the word” for 2008. I’m thinking it might be, “just try.” Or maybe, “do better.” Or her suggestion, “release”. That’s a good one.

For now, “breathe” will do just fine.

3 Comments

Filed under action steps, art, business, inspiration, life, martial arts, mental attitude, mindfulness

3 responses to “BREATHE

  1. Deborah Hill

    Well two things first I have a big problem with resolutions in general. They always felt like a “should”
    list. So it never felt true. So when I read Christine
    Kane’s post about this very thing I felt like “that’s it!” I have begun the search for my 2008 word.

    Secondly I have a word that is on my cell phone when I switch it on. And the word is…breathe. So every time I turned it on there was that word. After a while I always remembered the feeling I got after seeing the word, which was calm cool and collected and didn’t need to see the phone to be reminded. I have used that word for about 2 years and it really changed things.

    Good luck finding your word for 2008.

    Thanks again for all the insight

    Regards
    Deborah

  2. I’m glad to know I reminded you about Christine–she IS inspiring indeed. I’ve included her ideas on my Artventuring blog’s Thursday Thirteen, http://artventuring.blogspot.com/2008/01/thursday-thirteen-19-resolution.html and have been pleased to see even more people become interested in her ideas.

Leave a Reply

